Scheduled commercial airline service to Havana from 10 American cities won tentative government approval TODAY, advancing President Barack Obama's effort to normalize relations with Cuba.

Eight U.S. airlines are expected to begin round-trip service as early as this fall between the U.S. and the Cuban capital, Transportation Secretary Anthony Foxx said. It has been more than 50 years since the last scheduled air service from the U.S. to the island nation.

The U.S. cities are: ATL; CLT; IAH; LAX; EWR and four in Florida MIA, FLL MCO and TPA.
Of the 20 daily nonstop flights allowed to Havana, 14 are from Florida, home to the largest population of Cuban-Americans.

The airlines are Alaska, American, Delta, Frontier, JetBlue, Southwest, Spirit, and United.